Yoga and It’s Branches

Yoga and It's Branches

The word Yoga derived from the Sanskrit root Yuj (युज्) “to attach, join, harness, Yoke”. yuj as the “joining or coordinating of all parts of the body with mind and mind with soul – to achieve a happy and healthy lifestyle. The word yoga is related to English “Yoke”. With regards to yoga sutras, the word Yoga means Union. Yoga is mentioned in the Rigveda and referenced in the Upanishads. Yoga originated in ancient India allegedly more than 5,000 years ago.

Yoga means many things to many people, it is a Sanskrit word which means Union. Yoga is well known for its postures and poses and tries to bring the psyche, body and soul in harmony. Male yoga professionals are known as yogis, and female yoga specialists are called yoginis. Here we are discussing yoga and its branches.

Yoga and It’s Branches

Patanjali was the founder of classical yoga. He characterized yoga as “the cessation of the modification of the mind“.

  1. Yama (Principles or moral code)
    Ahimsa – A principle of non-violence
    Satya – A principle of Truthfulness
    Asteya – A principle of non-stealing
    Brahmacharya – Continence / Celibacy
  2. Aparigah – A principle of non-hoarding or non-possessiveness
    Niyama (Personal Disciplines)
    Shoucha – Purity
    Santosh – Contentment
    Tapa – Endurance
    Swadhyaya – Self-study
    Eshwar Pranidhan – Dedication
  3. Asana (Yoga Positions or Yogic Postures)
    A stable and comfortable posture which helps attain mental equilibrium.
  4. Pranayama (Yogic Breathing)
    Extension and control of breath.
  5. Pratyahara (Withdrawal of Senses)
    Mental preparation to increase the power of the mind.
  6. Dharana (Concentration on Object)
    The concentration of the mind on one object and its field.
  7. Dhyan (Meditation)
    Withdrawing mind from all external objects and Focusing it on one point and meditating on it.
  8. Samadhi (Salvation)
    The territory of Super ecstasy, bliss and combining individual consciousness into all-inclusive cognizance. Union among Jivatman and Paramatman. Association of Shiva and Shakti in Sahasrar Chakra (the highest point of the head). Understanding the Brahman (unadulterated cognizance) or the Realization of God is a definitive accomplishment of Human Birth.

You’ve been introduced to all of the branches of yoga, stay tuned with us to know more about Yoga & Asana.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.